I spent 2 months now trying to make the ideal logo and branding for Ohana. I was not satisfied with any of the logos and from others’ feedback, I’m still lacking the meaning of the logo. It was difficult for others to tell what does the logo stand for; however, I didn’t quite agreed with being obvious with the meaning of the logo. I want a logo that is simple and flexible in how we can use it in the future, and most importantly it convey a feeling of warmth, love, and connection.

I was lucky to have the chance to have dinner with Fred Gelli who is the founder and the designer of a design company called, Tatil. One of the most famous and recent project of Tatil was branding for Rio Olympics and Paralympics.  I asked him about his thoughts on creating successful logo and whether it needs to be understandable or provoke emotions. Since his Rio Olympic logo is very literal and understandable as three people holding hands in a circle dancing with great joy and movement. On the other hand, the Paralympic logo is an abstracted heart that may not be obvious for other to see it as a heart but it convey great passion, strength, pride, and joy in the logo. I was curious how he create a logo that would satisfy a demographic that is basically the whole world. First, he told me I need to design “with” my audience and get their opinions because they are going to be the ones that will interact and live with it. Secondly, logo needs to convey an emotional effect on the audience or user then you can choose whether you want it to be easily understandable  or abstracted. The most important aspect is to communicate emotions.

Moreover, his studio designed the logos in 3D form because branding isn’t limited to 2D media. Plus he was able to test the logo with the visually impaired people and still be able to convey the message to them. Branding isn’t limited to visual. A successful branding is accessible to your target market and able to convey the message with emotions and understanding.

